Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU) has 33,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students in the Engineering, Business, Science, Humanities, Arts, & Social Sciences and Graduate colleges. Its medical school, the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, was established jointly with Imperial College London. NTU is also home to the National Institute of Education, the sole teacher training institute in Singapore. Ranked among the world’s top universities by QS, NTU has been placed the world’s top young university for the past six years.

NTU is committed to providing a quality higher education experience, where students from different disciplines can engage in interdisciplinary learning, and be equipped with future-ready skills to solve complex real-world problems. NTU’s pedagogy-driven learning environment is underpinned by the use of technology to enhance teaching and learning, aligning programmes and courses to Outcomes-Based Teaching and Learning principles, having a research-driven approach to curriculum evaluation, encouraging more authentic assessment practices, and using blended learning which combines online learning and face-to-face interaction. NTU recently introduced a new initiative which allows students to take selected courses offered on MOOC platforms such as Coursera, edX and FutureLearn.

Representatives on Board & Executive Committee

Professor Subra Suresh is president and Distinguished University Professor, at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. He has previously served as Dean of MIT’s School of Engineering and Vannevar Bush Professor of Engineering; Director of the National Science Foundation, and President of Carnegie Mellon University.

As a scientist, Prof Suresh researches the properties of engineered and biological materials, and their connections to human diseases. He has more than 300 published research articles, 25 patent applications and three books.

Prof Suresh is an elected member of all three US national academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, as well as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Inventors. He is an elected member of 15 science and/or engineering academies based in the US, China, France, India, Sweden, Germany, Italy and Spain. He has 18 honorary doctorates from universities around the world and in 2020 was awarded the ASME Medal, the highest recognition given by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers to one of its members.

Professor Ling is Deputy President and Provost at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore. Currently the President’s Chair in Mathematical Sciences, he joined NTU Singapore in 2005 as the Founding Head of Division of Mathematical Sciences in the School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences (SPMS), after 13 years at the National University of Singapore. He has previously been Chair of SPMS and Dean, College of Science, at NTU Singapore.

Professor Ling obtained his BA and MA in Mathematics from the University of Cambridge, and PhD in Mathematics from the University of California, Berkeley. The honours he has received include: the Singapore National Science Award (Team) (2003), Singapore Public Administration Medal (Silver) (2013), and Fellowship of the Singapore National Academy of Science (2014).

Specialising in applications of algebra and number theory to coding theory and cryptography, Professor Ling has published more than 200 papers and 2 textbooks.

Similar Posts